Sleepless Nights: The Drew Smith Series

May 30, 2011 

Washington, DC (May 3, 2011) — Sleepless Nights, the first released of the four volume Drew Smith Series, is loosely based on DC’s infamous 2003 Colonel Brooks Tavern murders. The protagonist in Norwood Holland’s new novel is like no other before.

An African American attorney managing a successful solo practice finds himself enmeshed in complicated relationships and complicated cases. A stark difference from other fictional detectives Drew Smith is a distinctly new type, professional, single, urbane, a good looking playa charming the ladies, clients and Judges alike all in the pursuit of justice.

Drew Smith takes on shady clients solving cases fraught with danger and romantic intrigue. The legal wizard, while frolicking with an exotic dancer succumbs to a midlife crisis. Haunted by nightmares foreshadowing an awakening reveals an empty life prodding Smith to find solace in the arms of therapist Zoe Settles.

Life gets more complicated when the attorney is pressed into service solving a vicious robbery that leaves three dead and the city enraged. Drew Smith and his devoted sidekick Julio Mejia work to free his young client on the trail of a crazed gunman responsible for a growing body count. In the end, the gunman and the dancer combine forces to bring Smith down. When death comes knocking Drew Smith faces the fight of his life.

A break out novel, Sleepless Nights abounds with despicable and lovable characters plus all the universal elements: love, sex, jealously, betrayal, murder and revenge. It has a narrative depth that sets it apart from the current flood of Urban Fiction. The author conveys a dark hard-boiled view of the underside, sprinkled with sex and violence, elements that make the contemporary genre popular among the teen and 20 something as well as the mature readers looking for a well written hardboiled yarn with compelling characters.

Author Norwood Holland is a lawyer and freelance writer. He blogs at For more information about the book, visit

Sleepless Nights
The Drew Smith Series
By Norwood Holland
293 pages
ISBN 978-0-983-16560-6
Available on Amazon, including Kindle and Nook
Windmill Books Ltd.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!


2 × two =

It's A Black - Products & Gifts
One Stop Shopping For African American Products & Gifts